top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarc Pochet

Tesla Chronicles - #35 - Epic Trip to Florida

Updated: Mar 7, 2023

My brother and I embarked upon a trip from Northern VA to Orlando and back in my 2021 Model Y. 1666 miles in total (plus another 350 miles I did from PA to VA and back), and honestly, it went flawlessly.


Supercharging Statistics:

We averaged 355 WH/mile on this trip. Stopped at 13 Tesla Superchargers where the average time at each was 18 minutes and a total cost of $175. One Electrify America DCFC for 27 minutes (I think this was about $20) to see if we could get free charging with my brother's account (unfortunately, the day before, EA announced a change where they actually look at the VIN number of the car to determine if free charging is enabled or not). Note that the EA station is just not quite as fast of a charger as the Tesla chargers, but my brother had a call and I needed a bio break, so it worked for us. We were also able to find a hotels on the way down and on the way back that had FREE on-site L2 chargers, which is great when on a long road-trip. This eliminates 1 to 2 charger stops a day because you can easily get up to 100% overnight and reduces are overall costs. Total costs per mile was about $0.12. Based on gas costs (about $3.30/gal) on this route, this would be equivalent to a 27.5 mpg vehicle.


We had 1 Charger issue on this trip. One of the Superchargers stopped charging after 2 minutes. Not sure why, but all I did was unplug it and restart the session on that same charger and it was fine. I have done 99 charges at Tesla Superchargers, and this was only the 2nd one where I had a minor issue.


Traveling highly travelled corridors like I-95 are so easy in an EV, and in particular, in a Tesla. I would personally worry about availability and the reliability of the other DCFC providers, but in a Tesla, it is just so easy. We (Susan and I) have gotten to a point where we don't even hesitate to take the Tesla on road trips. In fact, we prefer it. It is so comfortable, it practically drives itself on the highways (making driving fatigue a thing of the past), and even with the expense of stopping at Superchargers is still cheaper than taking her car which would get about 22 mpg.


The purpose of our Trip was to do a weekend on the Disney Star Cruiser to celebrate (early) my 50th Birthday. What a cool experience!




Here is the Teslafi.com trip data:

23 views0 comments
bottom of page